Broken

Perhaps it’s best this way

No sustained hope for more

We reached the pinnacle

The journey concluded

Only dead ends abound

I can accept that

In my head

I can even see a way past it……..

If only my heart would not infringe on my good sense

If only my memory could wane after a while

Didn’t allow me to chew on the heyday,

The apex, the capstone……..

If only I hadn’t laid eyes on you today

And brought it all back

My stubborn fixation for you

All the progress my heart and mind had made

These dreadful past few weeks

Dissipated……..

They say time heals all wounds

But why do the sands stagnate so

And should I ever see you again

Will it have the same effect

A week from now?

A month?

A year?

Am I doomed to a reality of ebb and flow

Forever……..

Author: Whipped Owl

Writer Musician Historian Sportsman Loner

One thought on “Broken”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started